Fashion · lifestyle · Occasionwear · Wedding Guest

Summer wedding

On Saturday I attended my first ever wedding, and what a wonderful day it was! However, as imagined, the weeks leading up to the special day were spent trying to answer one important question- WHAT DO I WEAR?

As it was my partner’s parents getting married, I wanted a classy and elegant dress rather than one that would draw any kind of attention. So, after looking at thousands of dresses (yes thousands) on the usual sites- Topshop, Asos, etc I stumbled across a beautiful dress on the Next website. Personally, I tend to associate Next with clothing for my mother’s age group, however this season’s range has proven me very wrong.

As well as being super fashionable, Next has also ticked another box for me.. Having a PETITE range!!! Now every short girl, like myself, will understand the very real trouble of trying to find a nice occasion dress which doesn’t look like a sack of potatoes when tried on, so the relief of finding the perfect dress in a shorter version is a dream come true… Literally.

image

As you can see above, the dress isn’t fitted, so I opted for a size 6, rather than my usual 8 which ended up being the perfect fit!

Now for the accessories. Knowing that I’d be on my feet all day long, I needed a pair of heels which wouldn’t kill my feet by 5pm, so I went straight to my favourite shoe and handbag designer, Kurt Geiger!!! As always, I wasn’t disappointed. After having clicked on the occasion link, I found a pair of Carvela courts in Champagne, matching the colour of the flower in the dress perfectly. To make things even better, I also managed to find a matching box clutch, so despite being a little on the pricey side, I knew the shoes would be super comfortable and the bag an absolute dream- and I wasn’t wrong!!

image
Carvela “Lisbeth” heels and Carvela “Daisy” box clutch Both in Champagne

image

A quick note- the colour of the shoes and bag in the pictures look more gold than Champagne, but they are more of a glitzy nude in person.

Moving on to the accessories, I wanted to keep these simple too, and not go overboard, so I went to the high street favourite Accessorize and picked up a pair of dangly Navy& Silver earrings and a very simple silver bracelet. I opted for a pair of dangly earrings, rather than a pair of studs because due to the high embellished neckline of the dress, I knew that it would be best for me to wear my up to really show off the gorgeous jewels and the stunning earrings.
image image

Hair & Makeup for this outfit:

As I’m sure you all agree, you don’t want to attend a wedding with a dramatic smokey eye fit for a night out clubbing, so I opted for a pink and nude subtle smokey eye, with simple contouring, a little blush and pink lips. Below, you will see the products used to create my wedding guest look…

image

Products used for eye make up
Products used for eye make up
Products used for complexion
Products used for complexion

And last but not least, my hair! I must admit, due to my hair being the awkward below the shoulder length, I made an appointment with my local salon. Even though it’s cheaper to create your own look, in my opinion there’s nothing worse than having bobby pins showing all over, so when considering that, it’s worth every penny. As stated above, I opted for an up-do, however I wanted something a little on the messy side with a bit of volume.

image

As you can see from the photo above, the stylist managed to create the perfect up-do, making it elegant by featuring the plait, but adding that required element of a “messy look” by creating loose curls, rather than the traditional tight curls.

So here we have it, my guide to creating the perfect wedding guest look. Remember to keep it simple, classy and to make the most of being able to dress up real nice for a day.

Thanks for reading,

H xx

Leave a Reply

