Beauty · Cosmetics · Daytime · High-street

Daytime make-up in minutes

Today will be my first make up focused blog and to kick it off I’m going to share my daytime look. This is my go-to look when I’m off shopping or out for a daytime meal and the best part is by following the simple steps below, it’s the perfect look to get ready in a hurry.

Due to it being a daytime look, I mainly use high-street products from brands such as L’Oréal, Revlon and Rimmel making it SUPER-AFFORDABLE!

PRIMER: One of the most important products in any girls make up bag, but often the most forgotten. Whether you have the most flawless skin in the world, or like me, slightly dry and blotchy, primer is key. I use the No7 Stay Perfect primer which is great if you have sensitive skin as it is Hypo-allergenic (always a bonus), but best of all, it provides the perfect base to ensure that your make up lasts all day no matter what challenges you face. This shine-free primer is also just as perfect for nights out, especially when you get caught by the blinding flash from the clubs photographer. Costing £12.50 in Boots, some of you may opt for a lower budget one, however, a little goes a very long way with this little life saver and is most definitely worth every penny!

FOUNDATION: Now your skin is ready for the foundation. Today I’ve chosen L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24H-Matte foundation in Sand. I recently bought this product as part of the 3 for 2 offer in Boots, and I don’t regret it! It provides high coverage with a lovely medium to light texture, perfect if you hate your foundation feeling cakey. Due to it being matte, it ensures that you have that all important shine-control, when combined with the primer gives you the flash-ready complexion you dream of. To apply the foundation, I use Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge which gives me the flawless coverage I require. If you prefer a dewy effect, rather than a matte then feel free to use the foundation of your choice.

POWDER: If you have flawless looking skin naturally, you may not need to include this step into your makeup routine, however today my skin looked particularly blotchy so I’ve added this into my daytime look. For powder, I use L’Oréal Paris’ true match genius 4-in-1 powder in 3.W Golden Beige. I have olive skinned which tends to tan very easily, so the shades I use may be a little too dark for some of you. This 4-in-1 powder gives you the ultimate flawless finish, by combining a primer, foundation, concealer and powder in one simple compact, again with a natural looking matte finish. When doing my make-up for a night out, this is my best friend, and it is small enough to fit in my clutch in case I suffer any make-up mishaps in the early hours of the morning.

CONCEALER: Once again I’ve turned to L’Oréal Paris, and this time it’s the la touche magique perfect match highlighting concealer. I use this in Ivory Beige as I like my concealer to be a little lighter than my foundation to really focus on the highlighting. When using this, I draw triangles under my eyes, finishing at the top of my cheekbones, a line down my nose, and a small patch on my chin and forehead. To blend this in, look no further than the EcoTools airbrush concealer brush. This is the ideal brush to make sure your concealer covers any dark circles or blemishes, and to top it off, its sustainable, recycled, cruelty-free and feels amaaaazing on your skin.

CONTOUR: This season’s hottest beauty trend, as demonstrated on the oh-so-fabulous, Kim Kardashian. Now, contouring goes hand in hand with highlighting, so make sure you don’t skip this step. For a daytime look, I like to keep my contouring super subtle and just put a small amount on the hollows of my cheeks, forehead, sides of my nose and jaw line. I use Maybelline New York’s Master Sculpt in 01 Light/ Medium. This compact is handy for many reasons- 1) it comes with a highlighting powder too, so if you haven’t got the concealer handy, you have a back up. 2) it’s super compact so doesn’t take up too much space in your handbag. To apply the contour powder, I use the flat surface on the Real Techniques sponge.

image

EYESHADOW: My go-to daytime palette is the L’Oréal Paris La Palette Nude in Rose. This palette features 10 stunning colours, including both matte and shimmering tones. For this look I use three of the matte shades and the white (far left) shimmering shade for highlighting the brow bone. First of all, I use the matte pink/taupe shade (third from the left) all over my eyelid as my base colour. On the outer corners of my eyes, I use the next shade in, a matte brown, and then the matte dark grey (second from the right) on the top of the eyelid, sweeping across to define my eyes. To apply my eyeshadows, I use EcoTools eye enhancing duo brush set.

EYELINER: Now I must admit, I am a massive liquid eyeliner fan, however I like my line to very as thin as possible with a small flick, but nothing too dramatic. As I have quite small eyes, I find most eyeliner brushes too thick, so I was over the moon when I discovered the L’Oréal Paris Super Liner ultra precision in black. The super fine tip gives me the ideal precision and is still super long-lasting, basically the dream eyeliner. Rather than using a Kohl pencil on my lower eyelids, I used the matte brown shade (stated above) and brushed that across the lower lash line for a more subtle effect.

MASCARA: In my opinion, there are no better mascara’s then the three that benefit offer. My two personal favourites are They’re Real! and Roller Lash. I have very long and thick eyelashes without mascara, so I find that these two teamed together really offer a dramatic look.

EYEBROWS: There’s no denying that eyebrows are a key trend this season, however it’s very important to make sure that you don’t go overboard, especially in the daytime. To create a natural look, I used Rimmel London’s eyebrow pencil in 001 dark brown and just simply filled in my eyebrows following my natural shape. To create a subtle finish, I used small strokes, starting from the tail of the brow then worked my way inwards.

image image

BLUSH: Personally, I love blusher to add a pop of colour to my face and is particularly key if you’ve contoured. To keep with the matte look, I used Revlon’s cream blush in Charmed Enchantement 150, and applied it on the apples of my cheeks, and out towards my hairline using an EcoTools powder brush.

and last but not least: LIPS: To me, it’s important that your lips and blusher are similar shades. To start, I use a lipliner (not sure what brand mine is I’m afraid), in a shade which is close to my natural lip colour. For a pop of colour, my favourite is Rimmel London Colour Rush in On Fire. These balms glide on really smoothly, and provide long-lasting colour.

image

TA-DAH! My step-by-step guide for a gorgeous daytime look. Hope you all like it!

p.s. All of the above were purchased in my local boots store, so they are all super easy to find. && also, if you look now, they still have some great offers valid, including the 3 for 2 on L’Oréal Paris I mentioned and 2 for £10 on Rimmel.

Please feel free to comment and let me know what you think.. Also, I have a new twitter account- @writtenbyH where I’ll be sharing little tips and my favourite new trends.

Thanks for reading,

H xx

One thought on “Daytime make-up in minutes

Leave a Reply

