Beauty · Cosmetics · Date-night · Premium beauty

Date night dilemma? Not anymore

Afternoon all,

Following my last post, “Daytime make-up in minutes”, I’ve decided to share with you my tips for the perfect date night make-up look.

When doing your make-up before a date, most of us girls want it to look sexy, whilst remaining natural, and most of you probably think “How is that possible?”. Well here you have it, my sexy yet natural date night make-up look using a combination of premium and high-street beauty products.

First of all, PRIMER!! As stated in my previous post, this is so, so, so important to make sure that your make-up stays in place all night. I’m sticking with my favourite No7 Stay Perfect Primer, as it has always provided with me an ultra long lasting base to prevent me from having to worry that my make-up has smudged throughout the date. This product really is a date-night essential by protecting you from any unwanted shine, and giving you a gorgeous matte finish. It’s important to emphasise that a little goes a very long way, making this perfect primer super purse-friendly.

FOUNDATION: For this look, I’ve chosen bareMinerals bareSkin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation in Bare Ivory 04. Admittedly, this product is fairly pricey costing £26, but if you, like me, suffer from dry skin, or any skin conditions such as eczema, this foundation is the one for you. As well as being hypo-allergenic and non-comedgenic, it also gives you control over how much coverage you desire, with a few drops going a long way. For this look, I recommend using 4 drops of the foundation, as it’ll ensure that your complexion looks natural, whilst giving you the peace of mind that any blemishes or red blotches are covered. To apply the foundation, I put a drop of the foundation on the curved edge of the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge, and then apply on to my face using a circular motion in order to achieve a flawless, more even finish.

POWDER: Instead of using the L’Oréal Paris True Match Genius compact powder, I’ve gone back to the No7 counter and this time it’s for their No7 Perfect Light Loose Powder. For me, I use the Medium shade because I find that’s the best suited for the shade of my foundation. This magic black pot comes with a power puff included, however if you prefer a brush, I recommend using EcoTools Bamboo Powder Brush. Believe it or not, this product has answered every girls make-up dream- providing a flawless and radiant finish, whilst remaining a light and airy texture (… and yes, you read that correctly).

CONCEALER: As before, I use L’Oréal Paris True Match Touche Magique Concealer in Ivory Beige as my highlighting concealer. I apply this under my eyes, using the triangle technique, along my nose, on my chin and my forehead to really highlight the parts which tend to attract the sun naturally. As well as this, to cover any unwanted blemishes or red patches, I use Benefit fakeup concealer in 02 Medium. Clearly this is a premium beauty product costing £18.50, however mine tends to last me between 8-9 months making it a worthy investment. When applying concealer, remember to use the EcoTools Airbrush Concealer Brush to ensure it’s completely blended in.

CONTOUR: Date-night is the perfect excuse to contour! I use Maybelline New York Master Sculpt in 01 Light/ Medium in order to fake my cheek bones. For this look, you want to make sure that you don’t go overboard on the contouring, however you want it a little more obvious than the daytime look. To make sure that you contour correctly, take the flat edge of the Miracle Complexion Sponge and dip it in the darker powder in the compact, before applying it to the hollow of your cheeks (TIP: pucker your lips to make sure you apply the powder to the correct area). As well as the cheeks, make sure you apply it to the sides of your nose, your temples and your jaw line, and please please please you smudge it properly. Another bonus of this compact is that it comes with a highlighting powder too, so you can also dab some of the lighter powder of the concealed areas to boost the effect.

EYESHADOW: The key-part to a sexy make-up look is the eyes, and to complete this part I’ve opted for Benefit Longwear Powder Eyeshadows in It’s Complicated, Nude Swings, Thanks a Latte and Quick, Look Busy. These four shades allow you to create a very sultry yet subtle smokey-eye, however rather than the usual dark grey and black, I prefer using a variety of brown shades to give a more natural look. Before applying the eyeshadow, I draw a quick line across my upper-lash line using the Rimmel London Eye Definer in 212 Rich Brown and then smudge it in using the smudge brush from EcoTools Eye Enhancing Duo Brush set. This provides a great base for the eyeshadow to cling on to, combined with the primer from the first step.

For the eyeshadow, to start, I apply Nude Swings all over the eyelid as my base colour, before applying the Quick, Look Busy. shade from the outside of my iris to the end of the lid. To define the eye, use shade Thanks a Latte along with the define brush from the EcoTools set and brush across the crease of the eyelid in back and forth motions. To blend all of the shades together to erase any harsh lines, take the blend brush and start by brushing it across the crease out towards the end of the eye, before brushing inwards to the point where Nude Swings and Quick, Look Busy. meet.

EYELINER: As you all know, I have a slight obsession with the L’Oréal Paris Super Liner ultra precision in Black, and it’s the only one I trust for my date-night look. I apply a very thin line across my upper lash line, which is fuss-free thanks to its super precise tip, before adding a very small flick (DON’T PANIC- it’s super easy with this eyeliner). As if it doesn’t sound perfect enough already, it’s also super long-lasting, so no need to make a sneaky trip to the bathroom mirror to make sure its still intact.

For the lower lash line, you have two options:

  1. The first option is using the Rimmel London Exaggerate Eye Definer in 212 Rich Brown (as used above) and draw a line along your waterline, before taking the smudge brush to give it a more smokey effect.
  2. …. or, you can use the smudge brush with the eyeshadow used. This gives you more flexibility depending on how dramatic you’d like your eye make-up to be. If you prefer a more subtle look, I’d recommend using the smudge brush with the Quick, Look Busy eyeshadow and sweep it softly across your lower lash line. However, if you prefer a more dramatic look, and don’t fancy using the eyeliner pencil, replace the Quick, Look Busy with Thanks a Latte, applying it using the same technique.

MASCARA: If possible, avoid using false eyelashes for a date, just to avoid the risk of one of them coming loose or possibly falling off. Instead, head straight for the Benefit counter and pick up two of my favourite products- They’re Real! and Roller Lash Mascara. These two teamed together will give you the luscious lashes you require without the risk of falsies. When applying these mascaras, I give my lashes one coat of They’re Real! first, before applying a coat of the Roller Lash, providing me with a beautiful amount of volume and curl. To finish, I use the tip of the They’re Real! brush and brush my eyelashes up-wards giving me extra length, before doing the same for the bottom eyelashes.

EYEBROWS: In my opinion, there really is nothing worse than eyebrows that look like slugs and I’m fairly sure that your date will agree, so pleases stick to one simple rule- KEEP THEM NATURAL. To start, I use Rimmel London’s eyebrow pencil in 001 dark brown and apply it to the tails of my brows before following its natural shape inwards. One of my favourite things about this product is that it comes in a variety of shades according to your eye colour, so make sure you pick the one that’s closes to you. After applying the pencil, I give them a quick coat of Gimme Brow Gel by Benefit in Medium/Deep. This product is perfect for a natural finish, whilst providing a long-lasting finish due to its innovative brush. If you are unsure as to which shade you need, or if you brow colour is inbetween shades, pop to your nearest Benefit counter to see which you prefer.

BLUSH/BRONZER: Once again, I’ve gone back to Benefit, and this time it’s for the Hoola Bronzer, and Sugar Bomb blush. For the bronzer, I apply a very small amount of it on to my face to give me a sun-kissed look, and then over my neck to avoid any lines. With the blush, using the brush provided, I dip it in the pot, before applying it across the apples of my cheeks and out towards my hairline, giving me a very subtle, yet noticeable shimmer.

LIPS: Once again, you have two options:

  1. Pink/Nude- If you prefer to keep your look simple, opt for a natural pink/nude shade similar to your normal lip colour. I’d opt for a lip gloss or a lip balm, just to give a gorgeous plump and shiny effect. My favourite is the Rimmel London Colour Rush in On Fire.
  2. Berry- This autumn is all about this 90’s make up trend. As seen in all of the fashion magazines, on all of the most-loved celebs, berry lips are the go-to look this season. For this look, I use Revlon Colour Burst Balm Stain in 005 Crush. 

Both of these balms provide a gorgeous flush of colour, and a gorgeous coat of moisture whilst being super long-lasting, so you needn’t worry about your lips looking chapped, or the colour fading during your date. PERFECT!

image

VOILA! My super natural, super sexy, date night look.

As always, thanks for reading and please leave a comment to tell me what you think,

H xx

Leave a Reply

