Uncategorized

High Street vs. High End

The battle of high street vs. high end is always an interesting one, especially for a make up obsessed blogger like myself.
Before starting uni, I was obsessed with high end beauty products, particularly brands such as Benefit and Urban Decay. However, when trying to live off a student budget, spending a minimum of £20 (approximately) per product is difficult to justify as usually beauty products fall lower down the priorities list. Therefore, in the last 18 months, I’ve had to swap the Benefit for L’Oreal, but does this necessarily mean having to sacrifice the quality of your make up? NOT AT ALL!

During the past few weeks, I’ve tried and tested some high street products to see how they compare to my usual high end versions. Below, you can see how I think they compare to one another and which one I’d choose in the future.

1) Face Mask- Bath Spa Skincare Oat Bath vs. Simple Kind to Skin Deep Cleansing Face Mask

Oat Bath
Pros: Multiple uses- can be used in the bath to help your skin
         Helps to soothe skin and reduce any redness
         Longer lasting
Cons: Can be difficult to apply and wash off in terms of texture (a little on the sticky side)
          Expensive- £12.95 per bag
          Must mix with water/toner- not the best for a fuss-free mask

Simple Kind to Skin Deep Cleansing Face Mask
Pros: Cheap!!!!- £3.99 
         Ready to use- no need to mix with any water/toner
         Easier to apply/ wash off- goes on like a face cream (no stickiness whatsoever)
         Only requires 3 minutes- perfect if you’re in a rush
         No tight feeling that you usually get with face masks
Cons:

My favourite: I do love both of these products and both of them have a great effect on my skin. However for me personally, I like convenience and hate having to sit around to wash the mask off my face, therefore, due to the duration you have to leave the mask on for, and considering how easy it is to apply and wash off, my favourite is the Simple Kind to Skin Deep Cleansing Face Mask. I must add, I was a little sceptical of Simple, as my previous experiences with them haven’t be as great and I usually find that they have very little impact on my skin, BUT give this one a go (trust me, you won’t regret it).

2) Foundation- bareMinerals bareSkin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation  vs. L’Oreal Paris Infallible Matte Foundation

bareSkin foundation
Pros: SPF 20
         Lightweight
         Hypoallergenic
Cons: Poor coverage
          Expensive- £26.00
          Increases the appearance of dry skin
          Needs topping up throughout the day

L’Oreal Paris Infallible Matte Foundation
Pros: Cheap- £7.99
         Good Coverage
         No cakey effect
         Long lasting 
         Matte effect
Cons: Not buildable

My favourite: I must admit that the L’Oreal matte foundation is my favourite at the moment, especially for nights out. However, for the summer months, where you don’t want anything too heavy, I would recommend investing in the bareMinerals bareSkin foundation.

3) Concealer- Benefit Fakeup Concealer vs. L’Oreal Paris True Match Touche Magique Concealer

Benefit Fakeup Concealer
Pros: Hydrating
         Reduces the appearance of dull, tired skin
         Long lasting
Cons: Pricey- £18.50
          Light coverage

L’Oreal Paris True Match Touche Magique Concealer
Pros: Cheap- £7.99
         Buildable coverage
         Can act as a highlighter 
         Matches skin colour
         Reduces the appearance of dark circles/fine lines
Cons: Not as hydrating

My favourite: This is a case of what you are looking for in your concealer. If you aren’t looking for huge coverage but want something that will hydrate your skin, then Benefit is definitely the best option for you. Personally, I prefer coverage, so my favourite is the L’Oreal Paris True Match Touche Magique Concealer.

4) Brows- Benefit Brow Zings Eyebrow Shaping Kit vs. L’Oreal Paris Brow Artiste Genius Kit

Benefit Brow Zings Eyebrow Shaping Kit
Pros: Includes tools- brushes and tweezers
        Compact mirror included
        Powder and wax combination- long lasting
        Comes in three shades
Cons: Expensive- £24.50

L’Oreal Paris Brow Artiste Genius Kit
Pros: Includes tools- brush and tweezers
      
   Mirror included

        Powder and wax combination- long lasting
        Cheap- £9.99
Cons: Only contains one brush
         Two shades- Light/ Medium and Medium/Dark

My favourite: These products are extremely similar, and in my opinion are both fantastic brow products. However when considering the difference in price, I would have to say that my favourite is the L’Oreal Paris Brow Artiste Genius Kit.

5) Eyeliner- Benefit They’re Real Push-up Liner vs. Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner

Benefit They’re Real Push-up Liner
Pros:
Cons:
Difficult to apply
         Expensive- £18.50
         Clumpy
         Difficult to remove
         Not suitable for a feline flick

Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner
Pros: Felt tip style- easy to apply
        Perfect for a slim line/feline flick
        Extremely cheap!!!- £2.99
        Quick drying
        Long lasting
Cons:

My favourite: I think it goes without saying that I was extremely unimpressed by the Benefit gel liner, which was a huge surprise as I’m usually Benefit’s No.1 fan. However, I was completely blown away by the budget liner costing only £2.99. This is one of the best examples of where money won’t buy you quality.

Total price for the 5 high end products: £100.45
Total price for the 5 high street products: £32.95

So with a staggering £67.50 difference, it really is time to give the high street a chance.

Don’t get me wrong, not all high street substitutes are the best option, however I do think they are seriously upping their game to compete with the high end brands, so a mixture of both is always a good idea. For example, I have been using Benefit They’re Real Mascara for years, and I know for a fact that I will never change it purely because it’s the one item that I love and trust, but also, it’s nice to treat yourself to some expensive make up every now and then as a treat. So don’t think that high end make up is never the way to go, because it is, but don’t overlook the quality of the products you can find in your local Boots or Tesco.

TOP TIP: If you want to try some of the products I’ve mentioned above, Boots are currently offering 2 for £12 on selected L’Oreal Paris products, so make sure you take advantage of this fantastic offer.

H xx

 

 


        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

