Beauty · Blog · Cosmetics · Date-night · Evening · Gothic · High-street · Makeover · Premium beauty · Student

Gothic Glam Makeup Routine

This has to be one of my favourite beauty looks at the moment- dark, classy and extremely sexy. It’s the perfect evening look and can top off any outfit.

I’ve been playing around with a few dark looks recently in order to nail this look, so I’ve decided to give you a step by step tutorial on how to achieve this sultry look. For the first time ever, I’ve also included a before shot to show you the true power of makeup.

First things first. PRIMER. L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique Primer is perfect for hydrating skin and leaving you with a radiant finish. Since picking it up in my L’Oreal haul a week or two ago, I can’t get enough of it.
I suffer from blotchiness and currently have a few spots on my cheek, so I used L’Oreal Paris True Match La Touche Magique Anti-Fatigue Illuminating Concealer to balance my skin tone and erase any unwanted red patches.
Next, I applied foundation, starting from the centre of my face and working my way outwards. I use L’Oreal Paris Infallible Stay Fresh Foundation. To begin, I applied it with my No7 foundation brush, before using a damp sponge to give you a flawless look. I use Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. It’s important to dampen the sponge before you use it in order to ensure that the sponge doesn’t absorb the product. Rather than rub, dab it gently over your face.

Once I was happy with my complexion, I moved on to my eyes. To get this smokey but fairly subtle look, I used a combination of L’Oreal Paris and Benefit eyeshadows. To start, I applied Benefit’s Longwear Powder eyeshadow in Thanks a Latte. After this, I applied the purple shadow from L’Oreal Paris’ La Palette Nude in Rose (fourth from the right) to give it a hint of purple glow. And finally, to define the eyes, I applied the same Benefit eyeshadow in Quick Look Busy using small, dabbing motions across the crease and along the lower lash line. To get rid of any harsh lines, I used my ecotools blending brush to soften the look.

Like I said at the beginning, this look is meant to be dark and sexy, which means your eyeliner needs to be on fleek. My favourite eyeliner is Collection’s Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner. It’s incredible- long lasting and its super easy to create the perfect flick, which is exactly what you want for this look. I always find it easier to start at the centre of the eye and work my way out, before doing the inner corner. Note- you don’t want the line itself to be too thick, so try and keep it as thin as you possibly can.

Now for your lashes! I love long lashes, but hate fake eyelashes, so I combine Benefit’s They’re Real and Roller Lash to get the false lash effect.

Everyone know’s that brows are still massively important this season, and I for one love a strong brow game. To start, I used the wax from L’Oreal Paris Brow Artiste Palette in medium/dark to map out the brows, before filling them in with the powder. To finish, I used Benefit’s Gimme Brow Eyebrow Gel in medium/deep to add more volume and give my brows a more natural look.

Before moving on to the lips, I used L’Oreal Paris Infallible Sculpt Contouring Palette in Light/Medium. If you read my “Why I love High Street Makeup” post, you’ll know that I’d been searching for a good contour palette for ages. This cream-to-powder texture was exactly what I was after. I love it’s super blendable formula that doesn’t leave with the harsh lines I’ve seen before. I applied the darker powder to the hollows of my cheeks, along either side of my nose, to my hair line and along my jaw line, then applied the highlighting powder to my forehead, under my eyes, chin and along my nose, before blending in to my skin use the Real Techniques Sponge. For blush, I used Benefit’s Sugarbomb blusher to the apples of my cheeks.

Now for the main feature of this look- LIPS! I used Kiko Milano’s Smart Lip Pencil in 712 Rose Mauve. If you have smaller lips, apply the liner in small motions above the lip to create the illusion of bigger, plumper lips. To complete this look, I used Kiko Milano’s Velvet Mat-Satin Lipstick in 610 Rosy Brown, which is a beautiful brown lipstick with purple undertones.

Don’t forget to set your look in place using Kiko Milano’s Face Make Up Fixer!

H xx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

