Autumn · Beauty · Blog · Blogging · Cosmetics · Make Up

Beauty | Autumn Make-Up Tutorial

Anything related to Autumn right now is my favourite thing, from big scarves, to wooly jumpers to my new camel coat, and now, this Autumn make-up tutorial.

Step 1: Prime& Conceal

Due to my skin being more dehydrated than usual recently, I have swapped my traditional primer for Caudalie’s Vinosource SOS Thirst-Quenching serum. This does the job of a primer, but gives your skin an extra layer of hydration. It also gives your skin a plumper finish as the Hyualronic Acid reduces the appearance of fine lines, especially around the eye area.
Once this has absorbed in to my skin, I use my Bourjois concealer to get rid of any dark circles below my eyes, and to cover any red areas on my cheeks/chin. For a flawless finish, I blend it using a damp Real Techniques Sponge.

Step 2: Foundation& Contour

Apply your foundation using your preferred method. Again, I use a damp Real Techniques Sponge to apply my Charlotte Tilbury’s Magic Foundation, as I love the dewy finish it leaves, especially with the weather turning colder.
For this look, I tend to avoid heavy contouring, so I apply a light layer of contour powder to my cheekbones, along the sides of my nose, along my jaw line and along my hairline using No7’s contour brush.

Step 3: Eyes

Think jewel green, rich browns and shimmery bronze tones.
First of all, take a brown kohl pencil, and follow the crease of the eyelid, before using a smudge brush to blend it in. I use Rimmel’s eyeliner, but you can use whatever you have in your make-up bag, as long as its blendable. Following this, apply the dark bronze shadow over the smudged eyeliner to create a smokey effect.
With a shadow brush, use the jeweled green shade across the eyelid, and then blend the lines with a blending brush.

Once you’re happy with the eyeshadow, apply a thin layer of liquid eyeliner across the lashline. I use L’Oréal’s superliner in brown, as I think it works best with this look, and really gives it an autumnal finish.

To finish, apply a two coats of your favourite mascara. I use Urban Decay’s Perversion Mascara, and I LOVE it. It gives me lashes unbelievable length and volume, without being too clumpy.

Step 4: Brows & Lips

With this look, I prefer my brows to look fairly natural, so rather than using a lot of product, I apply a thin layer of the wax before following with a powder. To ensure my brows look natural, I use a brow brush to brush through the product, ensuring they have a groomed, yet subtle finish.

Whether you choose lipstick or lipgloss is your choice. Personally, I’m obsessed with Kiko’s 3D Hydra Lipgloss in shade 21 (Brun Rose). This shade just screams autumn, and leaves your lips looking full and plump. PERFECT.

Don’t forget to set your make-up. I use the Caudalie Paris x Jason Wu Beauty Elixir to keep my make-up in place, and it also tightens pores, refreshes skin and reduces the appearance of fine lines. For the full review, click here.

What’s your favourite look this Autumn? Have you got an Autumn make-up tutorial? I’d love to see them, so send me your links (@writtenbyh)

H xx

 

Leave a Reply

