Christmas · lifestyle · Reflections

Christmas | The most wonderful time of the year

For me, there’s nothing more special than the thought of Christmas, this year more than ever.

I’ve just returned back to Paris following a weekend in London, and it was more than I could have hoped for. Waiting two weeks to see someone for less than forty-eight hours is always difficult, even more so when you’ve both received some exciting news in the meantime. The two of us had something to celebrate, and a nice meal accompanied by a glass of wine was the perfect start to the weekend.

I’d never visited London at Christmas before, so on Saturday I was determined to make the most of it, starting by a mulled-wine tasting trip to Borough Market. The rest of the day was spent visiting Somerset House’s ice rink, Covent Garden and Oxford Street before we gave our feet a well-deserved rest to watch the rugby.

As always, it went too quickly, and before I knew it, it was time to pack my stuff and embark on another Eurostar back to Paris. Seeing London filled with Christmas lights definitely got me thinking of all the things that make Christmas such a magical time for me.

15170790_10211002756335607_3188515169547876716_n

Family is a massive part of my life, so for me, its the little things that mean the most when it comes to Christmas, whether it’s watching Christmas films with my family, or a night away in Bath. So, with a little under 20 days until the big day, here are the things I’m most looking forward to next month..

  1. Being a family of six for the first time in months
  2. Windy trips to the beach
  3. Being woken up by my two pups at stupid o’clock in the morning
  4. Christmas films on repeat
  5. .. and also Christmas music
  6. Endless boxes of quality streets
  7. Coming home to the smell of mulled wine and winter candles
  8. Home-cooked meals, an Indian takeaway & bacon rolls (.. basically all food)
  9. Christmas day itself- prosecco for breakfast and a massive Christmas dinner, what’s not to like?
  10. Mum transforming our house into Santa’s grotto

What makes Christmas special for you? Let me know..

H xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

