Beauty · Skincare

Beauty | How I Keep My Skin Looking Its Best This Winter

Winter months are always the toughest on my skin, with the combination of freezing cold weather and internal heating leaving my skin severely dry and dehydrated. I’ve never truly invested money into my skincare routine, and have always relied on one face cream to do the job. This was before I realised the importance of looking after my skin, especially when using make up on a daily basis. I’ve spent a lot of time researching numerous products, and now my one-step routine has turned into an eight-step routine. As a result, my skin is in better condition than ever before, simply down to my increase in research and the incredible products I’m using. 

I swear by the following steps when looking after my skin so thought I’d share my current skincare routine with you.

2016-12-04 03.29.07 1.jpg

To start, I cleanse my skin using Caudalie’s Instant Foaming Cleanser. For me, 1 or 2 pumps of this product is enough, and I apply the foam to damp skin before rinsing with warm water.  

For exfoliator, I use St. Ives Gentle Apricot Scrub two to three times a week to remove any dead skin cells, leaving my skin healthy and radiant.

Following this, I remove any excess make up using Garnier’s SkinActive Oil-Infused Micellar Water and a cotton pad. This removes any trace of make-up/dirt that may still remain on my face. Upon first use, this will feel extremely oily, however within 10 seconds, it will be completely absorbed, leaving your skin feeling nourished.

Serum’s are incredibly important, during the colder months in particular. My favourite is Caudalie’s Vinosource S.O.S Thirst Quenching Serum– it’s formula is very lightweight yet restores the moisture balance in your skin, leaving it refreshed and hydrated. Its formula is also fast absorbing, meaning you don’t have to wait ages to apply your moisturizer.

The newest addition to my skincare is the Caudalie Divine Oil. I’ve been looking into facial oils for a few months, but could never decide which one to try. I tested this one in the Caudalie store in Paris and fell in love with it, and to this day haven’t looked back. I apply a small amount of this in the evening before my face cream, rather than the Caudalie serum, and it leaves my skin feeling baby soft by the time I wake up in the morning.

In terms of face creams, my current favourite is Nuxe’s Crème Fraîche de beauté. It provides long-lasting hydration for 24 hours by maintaining the optimum level of water in your skin. In addition to leaving your skin soft, comfortable and nourished, the combination of plant milks and white blossom leave your skin smelling extremely fresh.

Next in my skincare routine is the Caudalie x Jason Wu Beauty Elixir, which I spray onto my face to set my make-up or as a final burst of freshness. This plant-based formula treats fine lines, tightens pores and gives a boost of radiance to the skin. 

I’m also a massive fan of facemasks, so try and use two or three nights a week, as a way to relax and give me skin an extra burst of moisture.
My current favourites are the L’Oréal clay masks in Detox and Glow, along with Sephora’s Lotus Tissue Effect mask.

What skincare products do you rely on in the winter months? Leave me your links below..

H xx

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty | How I Keep My Skin Looking Its Best This Winter

Leave a Reply

