Christmas · Life · lifestyle · Reflections

Reflections | Why this Christmas will be different

I’m now into my final working week in Paris before I head home for Christmas. This weekend was spent doing all things festive, from visiting the Christmas markets on the Champs-Elysées, to buying adorable decorations from my favourite florist. Christmas in my house is always a special time of year, however if you’ve visited my site recently, you’ll know that I haven’t been home in close to five months, so this year will be extra special for me. Throughout my GCSEs and university, I spent the majority of my Christmas breaks juggling revision and my part-time job as a waitress (even on Christmas day), so despite having time off, it never truly felt like a break. This year, I have a little over two weeks off work, without any restaurant work or revision in sight, and I plan on making the most of it.

img_20161211_135127

This break couldn’t have come at a better time, and I think I’d have struggled to last an extra week out here. After months of jumping hurdles, I feel like I deserve to have time at home to relax and soak up the festive period with all of my loved ones, and for once, to have a normal Christmas.

How I intend to spend the festive period at home?  

Cuddling my two pups, Roxy and Barney until they’re wishing that I’m back in Paris


Family evenings spent watching Miracle on 34th Street and The Holiday (multiple times)


A girls’ night in Bath with my Mama and Sister, drinking endless amounts of prosecco and stuffing our faces at my favourite Italian


Nights spent catching up with school friends in our local pub


Drinking copious amounts of Baileys and Mulled Wine as if it’s going out of fashion


Eating my body weight in dad’s home cooked meals


Visiting the beach despite the wind and rain

img_20161211_135845

Do you plan on taking a step back this Christmas? I’d love to hear from you.

H xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

