Life · lifestyle · Positivity · Reflections

Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t

This may seem like a strange title for a younger blogger, but living in a world where us ‘Millenials’ or ‘Generation Z-ers’ are often considered lazy, entitled and in all honesty, a bit pathetic, it seemed to be rather fitting for whats to follow.

I’m a 20 year-old third year student, and a typical ‘Generation Z-er’ in the eyes of many. I’m living in a generation where all people born after 1994 are apparently ‘doomed’. Of course, each person is entitled to their opinion, and on one hand, I agree, we are living in a more challenging generation when it comes to work and our future.  But what I don’t agree with is slating our generation, and thus further demotivating us to try and achieve our goals. Motivate us ! Push us further! Help us that strive to succeed to take the necessary steps, rather than tell us we’re ‘doomed’ before we even get started.
Despite being young, this past year has been extremely defining for me personally, and I feel like I’ve succeeded. Last year saw the preparation for the big move and setting myself goals to achieve during my time here. I had three main goals- to find fulfillment in my job, to become fluent in french, and to prove to myself that I can excel.
I can sit here today, twelve months on and say that I’ve achieved my three goals. I love my job,  I have mastered the french language, and I got a promotion. This success has lead me to finding an internship in London at a top agency, rather than enjoying a well-earned five-month summer holiday.
Why? To add more experience to my CV in order to increase my chances of employment in the future.
How? By not listening to people who are trying to label an entire generation as lazy and entitled. I’ve worked since the age of 14, and have spent the past six years trying to juggle my job with my education, whilst still trying to maintain some kind of a social life. I’ve been independent and have relied on my experience and motivation to get myself ahead, rather than get a connection to do it on my behalf. 

The main message here is that there will be plenty of people in life who will always try and tell you that you aren’t able to do or achieve something, or will try and take away from your success. IGNORE THEM! The only person who will define your future and your success is you, so follow these simple steps to prove those who don’t believe in you wrong: 

20170213_101539.jpg

  1. Believe in yourself
    This may seem like an obvious one if you’ve read any of the above, but it’s also really important. Believing in yourself is half the battle, and once you do, there’s nothing stopping you.
  2. Get experience
    The problem nowadays is that most employers want 1-2 years experience in the required field for graduates, which may seem a little tricky considering you’ve spent your entire life in education. Work experience and internships are the best way to gain valuable experience, despite being poorly paid (if at all). If you come from a tiny village like myself, then moving to one of the main cities is usually you’re only option, but it’s also the price we have to may if we want to get ahead.
  3. Make goals
    Setting yourself realistic goals is the easiest way to succeed. Don’t make ridiculous ones that you know have very slim chance of happening, otherwise the potential failure of not reaching them will set you back even further. But achievable goals will give you something to aim for and work towards, and hopefully with any luck, give you a pretty good reason to wake up in the morning.
  4. Dream big
    Don’t let anyone tell you that your dream is stupid, but you also can’t think it’ll come easy. Setting yourself small and achievable goals will be small but important steps in achieving your goal.
  5. Work hard always pays off
    In my experience, hard work has always paid off. The nights spent working until midnight never go unnoticed and the results are always worth it. If you sit at your desk doing bare minimum work, then the likelihood is that you will struggle to find any fulfillment or purpose in your job. This is the case whether your 20 or 50, but if there’s one thing that I’ve learned from someone closest to me, is that age really is just a number and can never define your success. 

Have you ever been told that you couldn’t do something? How did you react? What pushes you to succeed? Let me know.. 

H xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

