Beauty | GRWM Kat Von D Routine

With a new year comes new make up, and I’ve found myself investing in numerous beauty products to give my make up bag the shakeup it needed. The end of last year saw a huge focus on skincare on Written by H, which meant I was producing less beauty routines. With the update in make up products, I’ve decided to add a series of routines and favourite products to the beauty section of my blog so I can share them with you.

First up in this beauty series is a daytime look using the Kat Von D Shade & Light Eye Palette. This all matte palette is one of my newest additions and is fast becoming one of my favourites. Just keep scrolling to see how I created my favourite look.

16935416_10211919805221256_1366722153_o17016191_10211919805421261_2080304077_o16990930_10211919805661267_372545358_o

PRIME & TINT

This step will depend on your skincare and skin type, so I’d recommend just using your current favourites. If you suffer from dry-combination skin and want to reduce the appearance of pores, I’d highly recommend using the Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Serum and Clinique’s Superbalanced Silk Foundation to give you a natural, medium coverage. For the foundation, I like to apply it using the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush before blending it with their Miracle Complexion Sponge.

EYESHADOW & BROWS

As you can see, the palette is split into three ‘quads’- neutral, cool and warm and all contain a base along with three matte shadows. Taking the warm quad, apply ‘Ludwin’, the peach-toned base colour all over the lid. Next, apply the shade ‘Latinus’ over the base. Using ‘Succubus’, the rust shade, apply to the socket and blend into crease using the Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush. Ensure you blend thoroughly to avoid any harsh lines as we want this to remain fairly subtle. Once you’re happy with the crease, using the light brown ‘Samael’ shade from the neutral quad, apply that over the lid and blend into the rust shadow. Using the same shade, apply under the eye using a small brush to create an effective yet subtle smokey effect.

For your brows, you want to keep them natural and avoid ‘instagram brows’. I use the Nyx Tame & Frame Brow Pomade in Brunette with the Real Techniques Brow Brush. Using small individual hair strokes, gently fill in the brows.

LINER & LASHES

It’s not 100% necessary to use a liner, but if you’re like me and can’t go without it, then apply a super-thin line across the upper lashline. For lashes, apply two coats of your favourite mascara to your upper lashes, and one on the bottom lashes. I use L’Oreal Volume Million Fatale Mascara however you could also use a brown mascara if you prefer.

CONCEAL & HIGHLIGHT

I love Collection’s Lasting Perfection Concealer, and think it may be one of my favourite concealers I have ever used. Apply a layer of concealer under your eyes, and over any redness and imperfctions you wish to cover and blend with the flat edge of the miracle complexion sponge.  For the inner corner of your eyes and brow bone, use a cream shimmer powder and apply with your finger to make your eyes pop.

For highlighter, you want to keep it fairly minimal. I apply a small amount of the L’Oreal Paris True Match Highlight in Golden Glow to my cheekbones. Try and apply it to the area where the light naturally catches your face.

BRONZE & GLOSS

Rather than heavy contouring, take a light dusting of your bronzer and apply in a ‘3’ shape starting at the edge of your forehead, onto your cheekbones and then finishing on your jawline. This will add some definition to your face, but remain natural for the daytime.

To finish the look, apply NYX’s lip lingerie in Push Up for an all matte finish.

17015201_10211919805181255_495030230_o17015289_10211919805061252_768005059_o

I’d love to hear what you think  of this look, and what other beauty posts you’d like to see in this series.

H xx

Leave a Reply

