Beauty | One Palette. Three Looks

Picture1
We all have our go-to product, whether that be a favourite foundation, mascara, lipstick, or any other beauty product. Personally, I have a few holy-grails that I couldn’t live without, and are always within easy reach for me on a daily basis. But, there’s been one palette that’s really stood out to me, and I’ve found myself constantly grabbing it to create an endless amount of looks.

This palette had been at the top of my wishlist for ages having seen it featured everywhere, but I wasn’t sure if I could justify another £40 on yet another palette when I already had plenty. However back in February, my boyfriend bought this for me as a surprise gift, and now I’m starting to question how I went so long without it?
Picture2

Of course, it’s the Urban Decay Ultimate Basics Palette.
I think I’m still to meet someone who doesn’t love the original Naked palettes, and let’s face it, they are without a doubt the most talked about palettes in the beauty industry, but this one is different. To begin with, the 12 shades included in the palette are all exclusive to the Ultimate Basics, so there’s no chance of an overlap with your other palettes. Secondly, the palette is made up of 12 shades, 11 of which are completely matte, and one with a slight shimmer to it. And thirdly, this palette is about as bold as you can go, whilst still remaining ‘naked’, making it perfect if you like to keep your make up fairly neutral, without being boring.
The shadows themselves are perfect, as you’d expect from a Naked Palette, and are highly pigmented with a velvety texture, ensuring that they are easy to blend and last all day, which isn’t always the case for matte eyeshadows.

Picture1.png
Picture2.png

Look number 1: ‘No Make Up’ Make Up Look

Of course, what you wear with this look is up to you, but for me, it’s all about keeping it natural.

The rest of my face: What I use
Urban Decay Self-Adjusting Primer
Urban Decay One and Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer
L’Oréal False Lash Sculpt Mascara
Sephora Colourful Face Blush in 01 Shame On You!
L’Oréal Colour Riche Lip Palette Nude
L’Oréal Brow Artiste Plumper

The eyes: What I use
Using shades ‘Tempted’ and ‘Faith’, apply the shadow into the crease as the transition shade. Blend thoroughly to avoid any sharp lines, before adding a small amount of ‘Magnet’ to the outer edges to increase the depth. Once you’re happy with this, apply this shade nudie over your lid. Voila.

Look number 2: Rusty Smokey Eye

With this look, I tend to kick up the level a little when it comes to the rest of my face. You still want to keep it fairly basic, not to distract from the eyes, but have the freedom to add a little extra.

The rest of my face: What I use
Urban Decay Self-Adjusting Primer
Clinique Superbalanced Silk Foundation
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer
Sephora Beauty Amplifier Powder
NYX Professional Contour Palette
Sephora Colourful Face Blush in 01 Shame on You!
NYX Vinyl Liner
NYX Tame & Frame Brow Pomade
L’Oréal Falsh Lash Sculpt Mascara
Urban Decay Perversion Mascara
NYX Lip Lingerie in Push Up

The eyes: What I use
To start, apply the shade ‘Lockout’, apply it to the crease using a blending brush. Adding a little intensity, take the shade ‘Extra Bitter’, and apply it to the outer half of the lid using patting motions, before blending into the crease to get rid of any blunt lines. Once it’s all blended together, mix ‘Blow’ with ‘Pre-Game’, and apply it to the inner half of the lid, blending again.
To kick it up a notch, take the shades ‘Lockout’ and ‘Extra Bitter’ and apply to the lower lash line to create a smokey effect.

Look number 3: Cool-toned smokey eye 

Taking inspiration from look number 1, but taking it to the next level. Focusing on the cool-toned shades in the palette, this look is a more subtle alternative to the traditional smokey eye, without loosing its glamorous effect.

The rest of my face: What I use
Urban Decay Self-Adjusting Primer
Clinique Superbalanced Silk Foundation
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer
Sephora Beauty Amplifier Powder
NYX Professional Contour Palette
Sephora Colourful Face Blush in 01 Shame on You!
NYX Vinyl Liner
NYX Tame & Frame Brow Pomade
L’Oréal Falsh Lash Sculpt Mascara
Urban Decay Perversion Mascara
NYX Lip Lingerie in Push Up or Ruffle Trim

The eyes: What I use
Using a blending brush, apply shades ‘Magnet’ and ‘Lock Out’ to the crease, really building up its intensity. Once blended, take the shade ‘Magnet’ and apply to the outer half of the eye, blending outwards before adding more to build it up. Once you’re happy with the crease and the outer corner of the eye, take shades ‘Tempted’ and ‘Nudie’, and apply to the inner corner, blending in to ‘Magnet’.
As seen in look number 2, take shades ‘Magnet’ and ‘Look Out’ and apply to the lower lash line to create a full eyed, smokey effect.
To increase the intensity once again, apply the shade ‘Black Jack’ to the upper lash line, and smoke using a smudge brush, before applying the liner.

Picture4.png

There you have it, three wearable looks from one palette. In my opinion, its versatility and wearability makes it a really great option for anyone looking for a luxury palette, without spending too much money.

If you’re on the fence as to whether or not you should buy this palette, then I would definitely recommend it as you’re guaranteed to get plenty of wear out of it.

Have you tried this palette? Which of the looks above are your favourites? I’d love to hear from you.

H xx

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty | One Palette. Three Looks

Leave a Reply

